Welcome to Techielog
Facebook

The new hello button on Facebook is causing a lot of embarrassment- and here’s why

FACEBOOK has quietly introduced a brand new hello button so people can give each other a virtual wave.

But it seems the brand-new feature has been causing endless embarrassment, with users complaining they’ve accidentally sent a hello to people they aren’t friends with, or even worse – ex-partners.

 Facebook quietly introduced the new hello button on the site earlier this month

FACEBOOK
1
Facebook quietly introduced the new hello button on the site earlier this month

Earlier this month, the new button started appearing at the top of people’s profiles on the social media site – right next to where you would click to send a friend request.

It is believed that Facebook bosses say it is a casual way of introducing yourself to someone and if they say hello back, it then gives you the option to form an online friendship.

But with many people using the social network to check up on their ex-partners, snoop on their boss or check out their crushes, many have hit the hello button by accident.

This in turn means that the person they have been online stalking knows that there have been people searching their profile.

And taking to Twitter, many have complained how the new features has left them cringing with embarrassment.

One revealed: “I was stalking my managers Facebook whilst I was at work and accidentally sent a “hello”, wow never wanted to die so much in my life.”

Emily added: “The amount of times I’ve accidentally hit the hello button on facebook is a joke, looking proper eager to people I’m not even friends with.”

Another person tweeted: “Trying to add people on Facebook and hitting the say hello button noooooooo I am not waving at u, mortified.”

While Amy wrote: “Why has Facebook made a “hello” button look like an absolute creep when I’m trying to add someone.”

However, Facebook fanatics have discovered a way to take back your hello, before the person sees it.

All you have to do is click the hello button again and it gives you the chance to take back the online greeting.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyrights © 2017 Techielog | All rights reserved.